Messing with Model Building

To better plan for my thesis show, and see multiple possibilities, I have created a variety of small scale models using the laser cutter and 3D printer. Some of these models have been enlarged like the ones below, using wood and plexi glass. These larger models can support small maquette sculptures and allow me to see more possible ideas.

20170531_164843

Here, I have laid out all the laser cut parts of the wood model to stain them. I then glued the sections together, and added plexi glass to one version. These displays are influenced by natural history museum displays that use walnut pedestals with molding, and glass display cases.

DSC01581

The Paris Natural History Museum, Hall of Vertebrate Paleontology

Here, you can see the way I have started to use these traditional displays to create more opportunities for discovery and wonder. Cutting the windows in the molding of the pedestal has provided a new and unexpected place to create context for the animals. I use some of my animal toys as place holders for the future sculptures, as well as the maquettes I have been working on. These slightly larger models also allow me to play with 3D prints, grass flocking, bones, and other objects.

20170605_11574520170605_12014620170605_121828

20170605_121651

This is one of my first attempts at designing the gallery space for my thesis exhibition. After conferences with my committee members, and chair Nan Smith, I have made some interesting discoveries. The pedestals and the furniture which I first thought to be very different forms of display, seem to be able to work together in the same space. I have also found that the display cases do not have to exist on their own, but could interact with the pedestals.

20170602_180047

I have enjoyed thinking about the space for my thesis in terms of a natural history museum display, or room of dioramas. This would be a rectilinear space, with pieces along the sides in a U-shape, with a focal piece at the back in the center. I will continue to develop my plans using these models as I move forward with the ideas for each piece.

 

About Ariel Bowman

I grew up in Dallas, Texas where I learned to love nature, animals, and art. I graduated with a BFA in ceramics from the Kansas City Art Institute in 2011. I am currently working towards my MFA in ceramics at the University of Florida. This blog serves as a way for my friends and family, as well as anyone interested in my work, to view not only the finished pieces, but some of the process as well. You can subscribe to this blog to keep up to date on what I am currently working on in the studio, research, new sources, and exhibitions.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

