Laser Cutting Display Models

20170529_173556I used the laser cutter to create scale models of different display method ideas. Some were larger (about 6-8” versions) to allow for clay maquettes to interact with the display option. These were made of 1/4” plywood and plexi glass.

imagejpeg_1

The laser cutter allows me to quickly cut out scale models in different materials of the designs that I create in AutoCad. These models are life scale in AutoCad, but can be easily changed to any scale in proportion.

IMG_5018imagejpeg_0

20170518_002234I also created small scale models of these pedestals to be used in the gallery model. Here are some shots showing how the different display options work in the gallery model. To create the woodgrain texture on the mat board I create a photoshop file of the texture/image and then spray adhesive the color prints onto the mat board before cutting.

20170520_12240420170520_12263220170520_122752

 

 

About Ariel Bowman

I grew up in Dallas, Texas where I learned to love nature, animals, and art. I graduated with a BFA in ceramics from the Kansas City Art Institute in 2011. I am currently working towards my MFA in ceramics at the University of Florida. This blog serves as a way for my friends and family, as well as anyone interested in my work, to view not only the finished pieces, but some of the process as well. You can subscribe to this blog to keep up to date on what I am currently working on in the studio, research, new sources, and exhibitions.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Laser Cutting Display Models

  1. Patti Waser says:

    Fabulous! Teach me how.

Leave a Reply

